The Transfiguration of Jesus

The Transfiguration of Jesus is one of the five major milestones in the life of Jesus – the others being his Baptism, his Crucifixion, his Resurrection and his Ascension – and celebrates Jesus’ revelation as the Son of God.

Jesus and three of his disciples – Peter, James (son of Zebedee) and John the Apostle – climb the Mount of Transfiguration where Jesus radiates brilliant rays of light and speaks with the prophets Moses and Elijah.

God then tells the disciples “this is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him”.

The disciples fall to the ground in fear, but Jesus tells them not to be afraid nor to tell anyone what they had seen until the “Son of Man has risen from the dead”.

The setting on the mountain is presented as the point where human nature meets God with Jesus as the bridge between Heaven and Earth.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s